Gardens and Activities
Of the Garden Club Of Windham
We are very proud of the gardens that
we have brought to life throughout our community and the activities
we have participated in. We hope you can enjoy these gardens in person,
especially the Garden on the Bridge.
The Garden on the Bridge
History of the Garden on the Bridge -
The following excerpts are about the history of the Garden
on the Bridge...
"The narrow cut-stone twin arch bridge was built
in 1857 by Lyman Jordan and Nathaniel Olin. The Bridge never had a
consistent name but has been called South Main Street Bridge,
Jillson Hill Bridge, Lower Bridge and Windham Road Bridge. In 1903
the trolley tracks were laid over the bridge which remained until
they were removed for car and truck traffic. The bridge survived the
hurricanes and flooding of 1938 and 1955 but was found inadequate to
handle increasing traffic. The historic stone arch bridge was
replaced by the current Thread City Crossing Bridge (known as the
Frog Bridge), and now has become the Windham Garden on the Bridge.
Over 25 granite planting beds, native trees and views of the
Willimantic River make this bridge a unique regional attraction.
Directions:Google Map to the Garden on the Bridge (alongside
480 Main St. Willimantic, CT 06226)
printable Windham Garden on the Bridge